#ShutDownScienceClub!

Alrighty – first off, long time no talk!

sdsc

Now that that’s out of the way – I want to talk to you about the current government shut-down. Obviously, this might be long over by the time you read this, but all the same – I don’t want to discuss blame or cause or reason… except for the reason of science, which is pretty reasonable. Anyhow, what I want to talk about is doing a science this week – in support of those federal employees who are legally and contractually prohibited from doing or talking about the science they love to do.

That’s right – during a federal government shut-down, some employees are not even allowed to give talks, lectures, or tend to their experiments. Government labs are shut down – biological research is halted, (and in some cases ruined!) and other education, outreach, and information services are suspended.

In short, it’s a terrible week for science!

So here’s what I’d like. This week, and until the shut-down is over – I would like you to take a picture of yourself doing a science. ANY SCIENCE (keep it safe for work and school though, nerds) Take a picture of your science and post it on Twitter with the hashtag, #shutdownscienceclub.

@SarcasticRover will be retweeting the best ones I see (though bear in mind, I won’t see them all) – and you should keep your eyes out for amazing sciences with the hashtag as well.

I really want everyone to know that just because funding stops, that doesn’t mean science stops – it doesn’t mean curiosity or investigation or reason or experimental fun stops. And I want those who don’t get to have their science know that we stand with them.

So go! DO A SCIENCE! It’s #SHUTDOWNSCIENCECLUB!

It’s even on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/events/601470823251107

Leave a comment